the National Park areas, Indian reserves, and historic sites in the different provinces throughout Canada; certain small and widely scattered parcels of Ordnance and Admiralty lands which have been held by the Dominion Government since Confederation and are rented, disposed of, or otherwise administered with a view to bringing as many properties as possible to a state of revenue production; and, finally, public lands, at one time alienated, but which have been revested in the Crown in the right of the Dominion for various reasons, and upon which public monies have been spent.

With the exception of the National Parks (see table on p. 46 of this volume) and the Indian reserves, all these Dominion lands lying within the provinces are small in area. The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of the Yukon and Northwest Territories, amounting to about 1,460,000 sq. miles or 41 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. The southern border of both the Yukon and the Northwest Territories is the 60th parallel of N. latitude. In Europe, Oslo, Stockholm and Leningrad are near this line, while about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, all of Finland and a large proportion of Russia are north of it.

Interest in this northern part of the national domain has been awakened throughout Canada in the past decade and the administration of these lands was placed under a separate branch of the Dominion Government, the Northwest Territories and Yukon Branch of the Department of the Interior, until 1931, when they were revested in the Dominion Lands Administration. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout the Northwest Territories and Yukon. More detailed particulars of the administration of each territory follows:—

The Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, and a Council of five members with Ottawa as the seat of Government. The administration is carried on by the Department of the Interior through the Dominion Lands Administration. The Territories are subdivided for administrative purposes into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. The district of Mackenzie is, as yet, the most widely known and developed, trading posts and settlements being located all along the great stretch of inland waterways known as the Mackenzie system. Fort Smith, the headquarters of the Mackenzie district, is located on the Slave river north of the rapids. From this point there is uninterrupted navigation to the Arctic ocean, a distance of approximately 1,369 miles.

The Administration has provided for a government hospital and medical service, grants to the Anglican and Roman Catholic churches for education, an excellent mail service in which river steamboats and aeroplanes co-operate, motor roads and a system of radio stations linking up Fort Smith, Resolution, Simpson and Aklavik with Edmonton, Alberta, and with Dawson and Mayo in the Yukon Territory.